Skip to content

3x Thursday – Oldie But Goodie

October 9, 2008
I wasn’t feeling this weeks 3x Thursday – so since I’m newer at this I figured I can borrow an old one. Want your own 3x? Go to – The Daily Meme . This one was extremely hard for me, since it feels like such a short period of time, so I may “expand it a bit” and read it by meaning the end of a whole year from today.

Name 3 goals that you have for yourself that you want to accomplish by the end of the year.

1) Buy a new house – our current house is so little that it doesn’t work for me and the family anymore. The girls rooms are smaller, especially Gabrielle’s. By the end of December DH and I will be pulling in much larger funds. He’s a Brownie man and is guaranteed a raise in that month.

To give an example – this is where we live now. 

 

   

 

This is the type of house we will be able to comfortably afford at the beginning of 2009.

Great House for Sale in Rutland

Common now which house would YOU choose? Do you like this brand new house too? Buy it here

2) Get Dinga 2 into preschool. Man this little girl needs it, but we live in a small town so preschool is outrageous!! For me to get her into preschool for 2 mornings a week it would be $65. That’s $9/hr. That’s just outrageous to me! Granted we make a decent amount an hour, but right now $9 still feels like a decent chunk of it. Especially when I am considering heating costs.  You’re probably thinking – but Red you work from home! I know I do, but this little girl needs it. She’s very dependent on me, and doesn’t know how to play independently.

  

and 3) Lose Weight! I know this has been a continuous goal for me, that doesn’t seem to ever happen. But hopefully if I actually keep up with Fine By 2009 it could actually happen!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2008 12:59 pm

    I’m planning to put MM in preschool next year – BECAUSE I’m a SAHM, he’s never done daycare, and I think the social interaction will be really good for him. Our most affordable option here is $166 a month for 2 days, which is about $41 a week so I guess that’s pretty good.

    That house looks awesome!

  2. redknowshow permalink
    October 9, 2008 1:17 pm

    I only wish it was $41 a week, compared to $65 that’s a steal to m. I know it’s not even a huge gaping difference, but to me it’s noticeable. It goes from under $50 to over and that’s a big difference. If it was only $41 here she’d be there right now.

  3. October 9, 2008 2:09 pm

    Preschool is about $1000 -$1500 a year here (MD). I have no idea what it would break down to once a week or per hour because I’ve never actually tried to figure that out before. Thankfully my kids are finished with that huge expense and in a really good (FREE) public school.

    Good luck with your weight loss goals. Keep us posted!

  4. redknowshow permalink
    October 9, 2008 2:50 pm

    It’s sickening the costs, and I’m to an almost breaking point with this little ones needy-ness that I’m about to just give in and put her two days a week. Because for two full days it’s $100 for three full days it’s $125. So for 24 hours it’s only like $5.20 an hour which sounds better for me than 7 hours at $9.00 an hour. Am I crazy for breaking it down that way?

    And it’s not like I have $100+ lying around a week right now anyways. Lol!

  5. October 10, 2008 4:15 pm

    ha. 2 days a week costs $120/wk in RI. No wonder I stopped taking Aly. You should look into childcare subsidiaries. I know RI has one we aren’t taking advantage of yet.

  6. redknowshow permalink
    October 10, 2008 5:03 pm

    I actually looked into subsidiaries, but they say that we “make too much money” So basically if you work they’ll help you, but if you make more than minimum wage. They won’t. Argh! So frustrating. Noone wants to help the middle class anymore.

Leave a Reply

