Skip to content

Booking through Thursday

October 9, 2008

What was the last book you bought?

I do not buy books for myself often. I am a Library addict! My librarians know me by name and constantly have books waiting for me. Which makes it so nice and easy. I did buy the Harry Potter first book of the series as a birthday present.

and I bought a National Audubon book for Marc since he loves books like that. Yes, I went to Barnes and Noble and didn’t buy a book for me.

Name a book you have read MORE than once

There are a few books to me that just hit home and forced me to read again and again. One of the first books I fell in love with was the Thornbirds. At 13 I read it over and over again. It’s a little old for that age, but I couldn’t put it down. And my mom let me.

oh and as I got older something about Lamb just felt so right.

Has a book ever fundamentally changed the way you see life? If yes, what was it?

There was one book I read that affected me in a way that I didn’t expect it to, that was one called Many Minds Many Masters. It’s just one of those books that make you think that maybe life isn’t as straightforward as heaven, hell, and life.

How do you choose a book? eg. by cover design and summary, recommendations or reviews

I get alot of help from my friends. Like Momma! She’s amazing. Also, check out whatshouldireadnext.com. Some of my choosing comes from cover, or popularity, or even just a blib in a magazine.

Do you prefer Fiction or Non-Fiction?

I’m a fiction girl, through and through! The DH is a Non-Fiction guy.

What’s more important in a novel – beautiful writing or a gripping plot?

It needs to have both for me. If it doesn’t feel right, then it is not right. If I had to choose I would want a gripping plot. Sometimes great writing only gets you so far.

Most loved/memorable character (character/book)

I feel in love with Biff in Lamb, he’s one of those ones I just want to be my best friend. If not I would choose Stephanie Plum. She’s so quirky and absolutely fantastic.

Which book or books can be found on your nightstand at the moment?

Well, I don’t own a nightstand. They are currently sitting on my stairs. I have –

Chosen  by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast

1984 by George Orwell

Witch and Curse by Nancy Holder & Debbie Vigure

 

What was the last book you’ve read, and when was it?

The last book I finished thoroughly is StarGirl. Which was short and different.

Have you ever given up on a book half way in?

I will fully admit yes, I read so often that sometimes a book just does not DO it for me! And I don’t have time to waste on a bad or uncatching book.

I want to thank http://btt2.wordpress.com/ for this Meme!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2008 12:25 pm

    I think you’ll like 1984.

  2. redknowshow permalink
    October 9, 2008 12:27 pm

    Thanks Sally, I swear every book sitting waiting for me I’ve started the first few pages but haven’t been “sucked in” I know I will read it though. It’s good to hear the recommendation on it though. Do you have any favorites I may like too?

  3. October 9, 2008 12:53 pm

    Everytime you mention Thornbirds I think, “I need to read that,” and then I forget all about it… Must add it to GoodReads, in fact, I’m going to go do that right now…

Leave a Reply

