Skip to content

Companies that hire people to work at home

October 29, 2008

There are many companies that generally hire people to work at home. I know most peoples ideal position would be the one I was lucky enough to land (especially with young kids) and that’s a data entry position that allows me to wah (work at home).  Most of the companies listed below are customer service based ones but they are worth looking into.

Remember, no legit work at home position will ask you for money!! Never ever pay for training or to begin. It’s money down the drain and a scam.

  1. West at Home – This company hire’s you as an independent contractor to answer phones mainly for tv’s paid programs. Or companies like HGTV. They pay per the amount of time you spend on the phone. There are certain peak hours to try to work on and over the holidays will get more calls.
  2. Working Solutions – Working Sol takes on employees as virtual agents and they mostly do “projects” which means there is not consistant work but it may help you get extra money if that is what you are looking for.
  3. 1-800-Flowers – This popular phone order company hires frequently customer service rep’s to take orders or deal with issues. The only glitch? You need to live in:  Delaware, Illinois, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Montana, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, and Virginia
  4. Alpine Access – Always on the lookout for what they call Customer Care Professional. What I like about Alpine is they pay per time working not by time on the phones. Also, they will pay you to train. Expect the need for a quiet workspace!
  5. TeleReach – Another good choice if you are looking to be in customer service. This is more cold calling than anything else. But they let you work from home, don’t forget, it’s a great perk to have

Look for more legit work from home (telecommute) companies in the near future! For now check it out, and never hesitate to ask questions. I love comments and any questions!!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2008 12:16 am

    Where did you get your blog layout from? I’d like to get one like it for my blog.

  2. redknowshow permalink
    October 29, 2008 12:22 am

    This layout is actually one provided by my blog host wordpress. The theme is titled: PressRow by Chris Pearson. Check out wordpress.com and you can find it there!

  3. e annapurna permalink
    October 29, 2008 7:27 am

    where can I find work from home options related to life sciences

  4. redknowshow permalink
    October 29, 2008 11:26 am

    E annapurna – Are you looking for some sort of tutoring and teaching of life sciences if so I would check out companies like ExplorElearning (http://www.explorelearning.com/index.cfm?method=cCorp.dspEmploy) that are consistantly hiring (though their website says not at the moment) people to put together curriculum for math and science. Or another is WestEd – unfortunately they too do not like like they are hiring immediately for any life science positions. Though they do have one for Social Studies Item Writer. It’s good to keep an eye out there (http://www.wested.org/cs/we/print/docs/we/jobs.htm)

    Let me know if this is what you are looking for. If not I’ll be glad to try to dig a little further if you would like to specify more to me.

    Thanks for visiting Red Knows How!

  5. October 31, 2008 5:35 pm

    Thank you for this post! With my husbands hours getting cut back I may able to help make up the difference.

    God Bless!

  6. Fewrae permalink
    November 23, 2008 11:52 pm

    I don’t have a website, yet. I’m new to this work at home, but I need to try it. My job will end June 2009. I work for a social service agency as a director for an alternative school for pre-8th grade. I designed the school and have had great results including making ayp for 5 years. Any suggestions for me?

  7. redknowshow permalink
    November 24, 2008 11:39 pm

    Fewrae – I do have a few ideas. It seems that you have a very strong knowledge base and experience so that makes narrowing down what you are looking for.

    Perhaps becoming a Admissions Consultant?
    http://www.admissionsconsultants.com/employment.asp
    This does bring you away from the social service aspect of your current position and push more towards customer based. There are many positions relating to this field of admissions consulting and recommendations in various companies.

    Maybe a different field would work better for you. There is a company called Playgroups USA that are always looking for employees in certain areas. Perhaps yours is one:
    http://playgroupsusa.com/lic.php

    Let me know if this helps you, if not, then I would love more information on what exactly you are looking for!

  8. e annapurna permalink
    January 30, 2009 11:31 am

    Thank you very much for your reply. But I think I need to be more precise.Actually I am a post graduate in biochemistry and I also have a two and a half years of experience working as as a scientific curator.As a part of my job I go through many research papers and collect relevant information related to proteins and load them in the database in my organization. Now I am interested in a similar work field where in I can be related to any scientific literature and at the same time work from home.

    • Andrea @ Red Knows How permalink
      January 30, 2009 12:16 pm

      The only one that has really jumped at me that may work for you is to go into Patent research which will help you utilize your biochemistry field: http://www.patentcomplete.com/careers.html You may also want to try contacting local hospitals to see if their research assistants work from home. Good luck!

  9. Ryan Grubb permalink
    March 4, 2009 3:56 pm

    We own a test development, item writing, and conten development compamny out of Nashville Tn. W

  10. Ryan Grubb permalink
    March 4, 2009 4:00 pm

    We own a test development compnay out of Nashville Tn. We are interetsed in finding out if you have contacts with any companies that use these types of consultants. We have the ability to help assist their organizations in all of these types of projects and activities to be completed. We are looking for a few new clients and would love to be able to speak to those needing immedicate assistance. Please feel free to contact us at these e-mail addresses or phone numbers.

    Thanks,

    Ryan Grubb

    615-397-4803
    615-397-5523
    ryan.grubb@hotmail.com
    carla.grubb@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

