Skip to content

Yet they were not contented…

November 6, 2008

“Once upon a time, there were four girls, who had enough to eat and drunk and wear, a good many comforts and pleasures, kind friends and parents, who loved them dearly, and yet they were not contented.”

Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

I just read this quote and felt compelled to place it here. There is something about it that hits home to my childhood and to who I am. Perhaps not so much who I am now but more or who I was. Does this quote affect you? What are quotes that make you just stop and think?

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 6, 2008 11:47 pm

    I thought of a quote from The Sweet Far Thing that affected me like that, like stopped me in my tracks and made me say, “ah ha” Luckily – I blogged about it 🙂

    “There in the city’s steam-and-smoke-smudged harbor is the most extraordinary sight of all: a great copper-clad lady with a torch in one hand and a book in the other. It is not a statesman or a god or a war hero who welcomes us to this new world. It is but an ordinary woman lighting the way – a lady offering us the liberty to pursue our dreams if we’ve the courage to begin.”

    Here’s the rest of my review:
    http://www.mommablogsalot.com/2008/07/02/what-it-means-to-be-a-woman-or-the-sweet-far-thing-a-review/

    Great quote, I totally get what you mean. 🙂

Leave a Reply

