Skip to content

Aloha Friday

November 21, 2008

Welcome to this week’s edition of Aloha Friday.

In Hawaii, Aloha Friday is the day that we take it easy and look forward to the weekend. So I thought that on Fridays I would take it easy on posting, too. Therefore, I’ll ask a simple question for you to answer. Nothing that requires a lengthy response.

I have begun focusing alot on my new “diet” or as I like to think a change of life style. Thanks to the Fine By 2009 challenge that I have joined. I have been doing really well at counting calories and attempting to workout. Last night though after the DH got home from work I told him I was going to work out. I usually do so in our bedroom with the door closed (for privacy and away from the kids). As i’m about to go in he decides instead we should lay in bed and snuggle. Who am I to turn that down, right? So I lay down and almost immediately fall asleep! SABOTAGE! I swear, the DH is really trying to support my weight loss. But he finds subtle ways to sabotage my diet.

My question: Do people in your life ever sabotage something you want to get done? (even if they don’t mean to) How do you get past it? Or, any ideas on how to work around his schemes?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2008 7:05 pm

    I am really lucky that Dan and I are both on this “diet” because normally we both sabotage each other and then ultimately fail. But I think the whole beauty of this calorie counting thing is that we aren’t necessarily depriving ourselves of things. I can have anything I want as long as I count it, you know? Portion control. I think maybe you need to make sure he realizes this isn’t just a fun thing you’re trying this month, that you aim to do it permanently. And to remember sometimes it’s nice to break the rules. 🙂

  2. November 21, 2008 9:40 pm

    My husband is the worst at attacking my diet plans. I’ll be doing fine, then he starts baking goodies or just bringing them home.

  3. blonde1981 permalink
    November 21, 2008 11:45 pm

    Yes!! I swear my fiancee doesn’t mean to but going out to eat on the weekends and drinking beer is not helping me lose weight. Luckily I am working out so I am staying about the same or down a pound every few weeks but man!

    Good luck. I am going to have to start some ground rules and stick with them.

  4. November 22, 2008 4:28 am

    Sabotage? You mean that someone might intentionally place potato chips that I might not be wanting to be buy into my cart & look all innocent & then say in a whinny voice “but MOM, I need some chips in my lunch! I really NNNEEEED something salty sometimes since you don’t salt anything!!” Do you mean like that? lol I’m afraid that I can be such a pushover but I heartily advise speaking w/ the saboteur & letting them know. Chances are that they really have no idea.

Leave a Reply

