Skip to content

Then the climbing began

December 11, 2008

My younger daughter has been in a crib since she was young. First bassinet, then crib. Of course. These past few days have helped proved to me that she needs a toddler bed. (Thankfully Santa is bringing one) She has learned to scale it. That two and a half year old has learned the ins and outs of her crib.

For awhile now she could get into the crib, but not out. She would use a lego table to step on and lunge herself over the crib side into the bed. The problem was she couldn’t get out.

This is no longer a problem!

Except it is for me. Why, you ask? Let me explain by giving two examples.

Example 1.

The other evening it was time for bed. It was one of those days where her nap was cut short and she was going to bed late. She most certainly needed the sleep or I was going to lose my mind and so was she. I brought her upstairs for our nightly ritual of the three B’s. Bed, Baba (Something to drink) and Baby. She must have these three things by her at all times when she is attempting to sleep. If not, then a third world war could occur.  She was good to go and had everything she wanted. I said my “Goodnight” and went to my other daughters room to begin her ritual of prayers (her choice to pray each night), kisses, and tucking in when the screaming began. Do not worry – it is not the screaming of a hurt child. It is the screaming of a child who does not want to do what I told her to do. 

I walked out of the eldest’s room and there was my younger screaming bloody murder at the top of the stairs (probably thinking I was downstairs). So I grabbed her hand and eased her back to her crib. Restarted the ritual. sigh. This time I did go downstairs to curl up on my couch and actually relax for a few minutes. I hear her crib creak and the door to her room ease open. I head back upstairs and finally get her back into the crib with a lot of screaming, yelling, and kicking on her part. 

At this point I realized I must stand guard. I said “Goodnight!” closed the door and stood outside the door like a bouncer at the hotness nightclub. Looking all tough and ready to kick butt. The crib creaks and I throw open the door and grab her and put her into the crib again. Repeat 2 more times.

Now she has realized there is no escape for the evening and gives in and goes to sleep. Thank goodness.

Example 2

This morning. It is 5:50 AM. I usually sleep for another hour more when I hear a soft voice in my sleep…

“Mom, can I come downstairs?”

Huh? Am I dreaming, what is going on here? Then I realize I am awake against my will when I hear the patter of her feet on the stairs and the click of the stairwell light turning on. Ugh, it’s my worst nightmare. (Okay, certainly not my worst, but it felt like it at the time). Of course she came right into me and the DH’s bedroom (we are downstairs and they are up. Again I hear her little voice.

“Mom… Mom… can I snuggle you?”

OK, I dig this. I love snuggling. Let’s do it. So I grab her and pull her up. Except this morning her idea of snuggling was the poke mommy game. It was a continuous poking all over my upper body. 

At this point I know sleep won’t return for either of us.

I know once she is in a toddler bed it can only get worse from here. But for now I must complain over the crappy-ness of it all. I want to sleep, I want to relax, I want to feel like I have energy. The woes joys of Motherhood, eh?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2008 2:11 pm

    Oh the climbing – we escaped the inevitable for awhile with one of those crib nets, but I think she might be too old for that now – I think Michael was like less than 18 months when we had to put that up.

    Sounds like it’s time for a toddler bed for sure – at least you won’t have to worry about her hurting herself by accident trying to get up – it’s at least some peace of mind.

  2. December 15, 2008 7:37 pm

    Oh I so know how that one goes! I think my boy was about 2 when he learned how to scale everything 🙂 And he won’t stay in his toddler bed either… but at least I don’t have to worry about him falling trying to scale the crib.

Leave a Reply

