Skip to content

What I Want to Be When I Grow Up

December 12, 2008

I found this position with my current company a while back and thought how wonderful it’d be for someone like me. Though, I didn’t meet the experience guidelines so I didn’t apply and now am kicking myself for it. Though the more I dwell on it the more I feel like it’d be perfect for me.

Here is what I want to be:

A Social Networking Coordinator

Wikipedia explains social networks and business as: 

Social networks connect people at low cost; this can be beneficial for entrepreneurs and small businesses looking to expand their contact base. These networks often act as a customer relationship management tool for companies selling products and services. Companies can also use social networks for advertising in the form of banners and text ads. Since businesses operate globally, social networks can make it easier to keep in touch with contacts around the world

When I reviewed the position it basically stated that they were looking for someone to use websites like Myspace, Facebook, Twitter, and Blogs to help advertise and grow their product. HELLO. I spend all day doing these things. Imagine doing them with a purpose. With using these sites to help a company grow and to find new ways and sites to assist and grow the company. To me.. it sounds amazing. Like – a must do. Can I do that right now? I could feel technologically savvy, creative, and cool all at the same time.

Although, I did get wind today that I’m being considered for a different position with the computer company I currently doing telecommute data entry for. Though, I am doubting it’s higher paid or higher slotted. So we will see.

Want to see a sample job description? 

SOCIAL NETWORKING COORDINATOR POSITION SUMMARY:

Responsible for coordinating, developing and maintaining online presence on networking sites (Face book, MySpace, Twitter, etc.)

 

KEY DUTIES/RESPONSIBILITIES

 

  • Monitor and contribute to influential blogs
  • Respond to and interact with influential audiences online: potential and current Guests
  • Develop copy and content for web sites and social networking spaces
  • Help to develop online e-newsletter and other online marketing initiatives
  • Monitor news and trends related to online marketing and social networking

I wonder if I could do that job, my current job, earn side money with Quicktate, take care of my children, clean my home, and cook breakfast lunches and dinners. If so, count me in right now.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2008 1:16 am

    That does sound perfect for you! If I need a social networking coordinator I’d hire you right away! 🙂

  2. redknowshow permalink
    December 12, 2008 1:22 am

    Ugh, if only I could find someone who needs one. And make sure it pays well. I guess I need to wait now and see what happens with my company. Who knows, maybe it could be good. If not better (which’d be hard) which I have now.

  3. dailymishmash permalink
    December 19, 2008 5:02 am

    Where do I sign up? Seriously, that sounds like a great job for a sahm. Keep us posted on whether or not you find a position doing this.

Leave a Reply

