Skip to content

Aloha Friday – Help keep me sane

December 19, 2008

Aloha Friday, one and all! We are coming up very close to Christmas time, and my mental stability is in question. We have been without power for 7 plus days now. They expect to have us up and running this morning. Though we did receive a warning that if the storm hits (which it will soon) that the trucks will pull out and we will not be back up until the roads are clear and the weather gets better. 

So my question…

If you were without power what games, toys, tricks would you use to help keep your sanity and that of your children? I love board games and silly things so any ideas would be helpful!

My answer

I’m out of ideas, so that’s why I’m desperate for help! 

Want to join in on the Aloha Friday fun? Join in here.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2008 3:27 pm

    We love making up stories together and we play lots of word games, etc. in the car when we travel so this would be pretty easy for us.

  2. December 19, 2008 3:33 pm

    I would play board games, sing songs, use all of my arts and crafts that I have stored away. Lots of crayons would be out, play doh as well.

    So sorry that you have been without power for so long. We were lucky and did not have issues with the ice storm recently. I am very afraid with the major snow coming now.

  3. December 19, 2008 4:01 pm

    This whole no power thing is just so not cool – I can’t imagine you haven’t thought of anything I could having done this for 7 days already – board games, card games, word games, maybe read stories out loud to each other or sing christmas carols?

  4. December 19, 2008 4:32 pm

    I know how you feel, we were out for 9 days last year. it was horriable. We played every board gameunder the sun colored every book we could find slept alot in the fire. gave the pups middle names, told stories and put on plays

  5. December 19, 2008 4:39 pm

    my toddler age 2 is easy to please – a new elmo toy, raisins, M&Ms, or just put on his shoes and let him run around outside will keep my sanity and his.

  6. December 19, 2008 6:19 pm

    I rotate toys, and invent things for them to do that require water: foods that you just add water, wash things, use a paint brush with water, etc. Why water fascinates my kids, I don’t know. 😉

  7. December 19, 2008 8:20 pm

    Wow! 7 days! I think I would be going nuts too. Maybe Santa can pull some strings & get the power going!

    You have little ones, yes? I used to let my littles ones do things like wash toys & dollies w/ baby wipes, put band aids on themselves & everything but tv/computer screens, blow up a balloon & try to not let it touch the ground (little ones get the biggest kick out of it!). Maybe also give them a duster & let them have @ it?

    Good luck!

  8. December 19, 2008 9:01 pm

    Puzzles? Coloring?

    Ack….7 days. I was so glad to be south of the ice storm that hit here…

  9. December 19, 2008 10:31 pm

    First of all…. I wish I could be of some help. Since I am kid less I am almost of no use. I truly hope others are able to help that is a long time without power. I wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas and some power! You deserve it!!!

    Have a great weekend. I welcome you to stop by my blog and enter 2
    gift-a-ways….”giftaways” are the new giveaways…like 40 is the new 30. 😀

  10. December 19, 2008 10:42 pm

    I hope your power is on soon.

    I can imagine how hard it must be.

    I would probably sing, dance and tell stories.

Leave a Reply

