Skip to content

Romano’s Macaroni Grill – Restaurant Favorites

January 15, 2009

Romano’s Macaroni Grill is a franchised restaurant that boasts “a delicious meal for an irresistible price.” Let me fully admit, I’ve never heard of this restaurant! On the Macaroni Grill website I did a search to see if there was anylocation(s) near me and there is not. No wonder I have not heard of it.

The restaurant also has a retail line of what I like to call meal in a box, they like to call it Restaurant Favorites.  They are boxed meals with all of the ingredients prepared and ready for you. All that needs to be added is fresh chicken breast or chicken tenders. The different types include: Creamy Basil. Chicken Alfredo with Linguine, Garlic & Herb Chicken and Penne, and Chicken Marsala with Linguine.

 

 
Retail Products

I found this item at my local Walmart supercenter for under $4.00 – though the price does vary by location. I decided to choose the Romano’s Macaroni Grill Chicken Marsala. There is something about chicken marsala that is so delicious to me, yet I would never be able to make it from scratch and have it taste as good as some of the places I go makes it. 

The recipe preparation was very easy! Inside the box was:

  • Linguine pasta
  • Marsala Sauce Seasoning
  • Seasoned Flour
  • Marsala Cooking Win

What you’ll need are things almost everyone should have in their house anyways:

  • 1lb uncooked boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 3/4 cup hot water
  • 1 tablespoon butter

The box also states that it makes five 1-cup servings.  I used a little over a pound of uncooked chicken breasts (I bought them on sale in a b1g2 sale that was very exciting). First you have to cut the chicken into tender-like sizes. The box does state that for an easier prep just use uncooked chicken tenders that are not breaded.

The recipe in total took about 15-20 minutes including prep time.  By the time I was finished the smell was making me super hungry! I loved that the packaging at it’s own little wine pack in it. I actually cooked with wine. I have never used wine in a recipe so it was fun to feel like I was actually doing something fancy and challenging.

The Pros

The flavor of the recipe was delicious. My sauce was a little too thick, they did suggest adding a little more water to it if it does thicken up. I just liked it that way.

The cons

The serving size includes plenty of chicken but there is certainly not enough linguine in there for a family of four who are mostly italian. You could probably cook extra noodles on the side but that creates more work.

This is not an very fulling meal if you are counting calories since the serving size would be rather small – though at only 330 calories per serving it can certainly be combined with a yummy salad and low cal dressing and be a perfect meal.

The verdict

I will certainly be buying Romano’s Macaroni Grill Restaurant Favorites again. They make easy and delicious meal that could trick anyone into thinking that you went through a lot of hard work. The good news is that Romano’s is currently offering a $1.o0 off coupon on their website. So it’s worth a try for a new way to make chicken for you and your family.

Also see this review at Momma’s Review

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

