Skip to content

Dream House (?)

February 28, 2009

brookstation-house1

 

As many of my friends know my currently living conditions are to say it nicely, HORRIBLE.  Alex over at the Tool Spot described us as squatters, and you know what? That’s exactly what I feel like. Someone living in a place they shouldn’t be in and not liking it or taking care of it. Well yesterday we went and viewed a house in my hometown of Princeton. I’m trying to sort through my feelings for it so here goes..

What I love:

  • It’s in Princeton where I grew up, I love the school system and the town.
  • The house is… perfect. Almost every wall will need to be painted but there isn’t any cosmetic work that needs to be done on the interior of the home besides paint. It’s… heaven.
  • The garage, mudroom, and room above the garage are all unfinished. At first I didn’t like this, but right now I love this. Here is why: Because we are buying during this year we will be getting an $8000 tax break next tax filing. That money would finish almost all of those spaces. We may even be able to do the mudroom for under $1000 and the room is as big as my living room is right now.
  • The room above the garage is attached to the upstairs of the house through a small bedroom. Long term, we would eliminate that small bedroom and there’s so much space we could make a huge master suite. Yeah, that means walk in closet, sitting area, and master bathroom.
  • There’s a washer and dryer (swoon!), and it’s upstairs!!
  • The current upstairs bathroom has double doors (which I’m oddly in love with) that attach to the hallway and master bedroom.
  • There is a walk up attic that we could finish and shove Jason in when he visits.
  • There is a full/unfinished walkout basement that could be another minimal cost added square footage. It has barn doors that we can pop open in the summer and I can work and let the kids play outside and see them in the yard.
  • It has a farmers porch
  • It has a pond ON THE PROPERTY. Now another house we looked at was the same situation and Marc was in love. Let me explain the difference… the first house with pond we looked at the pond was probably 30 feet from the house. With young kids I HATED this idea. On this new property the pond is 500 feet from the house and down a slight hill that is wooded.
  • It has tons of storage space
  • It has a POWDER ROOM! That means two bathrooms. I am in love with the powder room and I have no idea why. It’s tiny but totally works.
  • The kitchen/dining room is like 30×20 square feet. I want to throw parties right now! Like I can fit all of my friends in that space then some.

Ok so that’s all the great stuff, but there is more. The downfalls?

  • The house sits next to the railroad. This is a freight only railroad and at max will run twice a day. We called the main station and they can only go a max of 25mph through that stretch. Also, the tracks sit up on a hill next to the house so it’s not an eyesore. You don’t really even notice it. I was most worried about this, but once I saw it I barely noticed it.
  • The driveaway is 1/4 mile long. I thought “holy cow! that would be so cool” until I drove it. In the winter it would be 1/4 miles of one car passage. For some reason that annoys me. Like what if I throw a party and there is people coming in and out all the time? How would they do that with a driveaway like that? Marc swears that the driveaway in the summer there has to be places that cars can pass or where it would be wider.

That’s the breakdown of my feelings, thanks for reading… I needed to get this onto paper or blog.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2009 2:31 pm

    Well I know a decent electrician if you guys need help with anything…

    • Andrea @ Red Knows How permalink
      February 28, 2009 8:09 pm

      There is duct tape going up the outdoor electrical unit, any guesses?

  2. February 28, 2009 2:47 pm

    So, can you afford it?

    • Andrea @ Red Knows How permalink
      February 28, 2009 8:07 pm

      I can afford it, if we dump our house. We could easily afford it without a second house under our belts.

  3. February 28, 2009 7:20 pm

    Would it be possible to redo the driveway at some point down the line? that might make it less of a down side. And yes, affording it helps, but I’m guessing if you are telling us that much that you think you can. 🙂

    • Andrea @ Red Knows How permalink
      February 28, 2009 8:08 pm

      Marc promised me that he’d find a way to get the driveaway to be more passable at least in some areas so cars can pass eachother if needed.

  4. March 2, 2009 8:51 pm

    Sounds to me that you have a whole lot more pros than cons. And, by the way, I have a 1/4 mile driveway. Haven’t had problems, but it’s not that long to me, since the house I grew up in sat a mile from the road!! It’s good exercise going to get the mail, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

