Skip to content

Aloha Friday – Overuse of Words

March 6, 2009

In Hawaii, Aloha Friday is the day that they take it easy and look forward to the weekend. Kailani at An Island Life runs Aloha Friday every Friday. This is how it works: I’ll ask a simple question for you to answer. Nothing that requires a lengthy response. If you’d like to participate, please answer the question below, then post your own question on your blog and then head over to An Island Life and fill out Mr. Linky. . Don’t forget to visit the other participants! It’s a great way to make new bloggy friends!

I had about five different questions planned but here is the one I have:

What word do you say a lot more than you should?

My Answer:

I say “Dude” and “No!” a lot. I also say “cheesy goodness” which no one has any clue what I mean when I say that. “Dude” is thanks to my husband. And “No!” well mostly it’s me saying it to my daughter. I need to cut that out.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2009 12:15 pm

    Probably the word NO!

  2. March 6, 2009 12:25 pm

    “like” and “know what i mean?” i think it drives ppl crazy!

  3. March 6, 2009 12:42 pm

    “What the ……” Not the f word mind you! Just those two words, What the…! *LOL*

  4. March 6, 2009 12:47 pm

    I say the word like alot in sentences and it sounds dumb sometimes. I also say ummmmm alot.

  5. March 6, 2009 12:52 pm

    “No.” and “yikes.” =)

    Happy Aloha Friday!

  6. March 6, 2009 1:45 pm

    After querying my family this morning, they all responded with the same answer, “no”.

  7. March 6, 2009 2:25 pm

    What mother doesn’t say “no” all the freaking time. I also seem to say, “like” a lot – not sure if I use it too much but I definitely use it a lot!

  8. March 6, 2009 2:56 pm

    I’m always saying “oh my god” – hate that I do that!

  9. March 6, 2009 3:07 pm

    I’ve been calling my son “dude” since he’s a tween & I just can’t call him “Nickel” like his friends do. Beyond that I say Crap, Holy Crap & CRAP, CRAP, CRAP! Hope I didn’t offend.

  10. March 6, 2009 4:19 pm

    seriously. i use it far too often. but i loved the grey’s episode where they were all running around saying it all the time.

  11. March 6, 2009 5:41 pm

    I probably use seriously too much and dude when talking to my kiddos.

  12. March 6, 2009 6:35 pm

    I notice whenever I leave a message that I say Um frequently…not good–makes me sound stupid 😦

  13. March 6, 2009 7:38 pm

    I say – ‘you know what I mean?’ or the classic answer being that I am a Canadian – ‘eh?’

  14. March 6, 2009 7:53 pm

    Yeah and ummm no

  15. March 7, 2009 12:49 am

    oh my, reckon are a few

  16. March 7, 2009 4:22 am

    I tend to curse much more than I should. We have moved past the word “dude” in my house (again). The kids are on “snap”, or at least the tail end of it.

  17. March 7, 2009 3:36 pm

    Seriously. <—That is my word.

  18. March 7, 2009 4:45 pm

    Hmmm.. probably “Umm” and “Oh my word” and “oh brother” lol

  19. March 8, 2009 3:48 pm

    🙂 I say Dude quite a bit, too. LOL

    Thanks for entering the Sassy Apron giveaway!

  20. March 10, 2009 6:19 pm

    Definitely! 🙂

  21. March 22, 2009 5:52 pm

    It’s either “Oh yea, definitely”, and while it’s not a overused word, I tend to say “so” after every other sentence. I annoy myself.

Leave a Reply

