Skip to content

DVR has Ruined my Child

March 11, 2009

My daughter is obsessed with television.

Yes I just admitted something that I never should admit in public. I’m sure I am going to even get some backlash for even saying the words television and my daughter in the same sentance. More specifically she is obsessed with Dora the Expolorer. I have convinced myself that Dora is a learning experience. Gabrielle (2.5) has been randomly blurting out spanish words since she began watching Dora and I love it. She counts to ten in spanish better than she counts in English.

Months ago we were at the Christmas Tree Shop (I hope everyone has one of these because they rock!) and we put Gabs into the car while unloading all our bags. I hadn’t buckled her in yet just put her in to get her out of the weather while I got my bags in. Well this unbuckled child yelled to us “HELP ME! HELP ME! Ayúdeme” Oh yes, my daughter declared help me in spanish without any prompting.

Though watching Dora has become an education experience for her, it’s also a horrible, no good, very bad obsession. What has made this obsession worse? Me. Well… yes I’ll admit me. But more importantly DVR. Oh DVR how I have a love/hate relationship with you. I decided to record Dora’s shows when they are on. I did this so when Gabrielle was in the mood for it and nothing else was on, I could instantly provide her favorite show for her. Stupid, stupid Andrea. Don’t you know better?

Because of this move on my part I now must go through temper tantrums, fits, and demanding that Dora be on the television for all of my daughters waking hours. I’m sick and tired of it, and as Dave Ramsey says… I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired!

Today I have declared war and deleted every single recorded show of my daughters off the DVR and also cancelled all future recording. Muahaha! Oh dear child today will be a fun day of battling between me and you. Though perhaps with commercials (always muted) I can convince you to do other fun things besides playing with Dora.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2009 2:03 pm

    I can still vividly remember Cay at this age pointing to the tv and saying, “Wiggles!” like it was a magic word. For MM right now it’s “Monkeys” (Space Chimps) just over and over and over. We barely watch all those great educational PBS shows right now because all he wants is Monkeys… ::sigh::

  2. March 13, 2009 7:14 pm

    Your little one is too cute for words! Johnny was all over the TV like flies on, well yeah. Pea however could give two hoots less about it. Mommy needs a break!

    I hope it’s going well for ya!

  3. Alex permalink
    March 14, 2009 4:57 am

    yup. I just had to pry Aly away from Calliou 24 hrs a day. She’s now happily into Ne Hao Ki Lin (I know I butchered the spelling). It sucks to tell them they can’t watch it allllllll the time, but I can’t see that watching the same show over and over is any good.

  4. March 22, 2009 1:22 am

    But Dora is so educational and she’ll be speaking spanish before you know it. lol My daughter first words were in Spanish, and thats only because of Dora. I remember I used to have to yell at her in Spanish so she’d open an door or sit down. lol.
    Hope you had a fun filled, no Dora watching day.
    We have On Demand here and YES its EVIL!

Leave a Reply

